Nessun Dorma from Turandot

Composer: Giacomo Puccini
Arranger: Nicole Chamberlain
Instrumentation: 4 C Flutes, alto flute (optional c flute), bass flute
Level: Intermediate
Duration: 2 1/2 Minutes
Format: PDF
Price: $10.00

"Nessun Dorma” was originally composed by Giacomo Puccini as an aria that takes place in his opera Turandot. Calaf, an unknown prince, has won the right to marry the princess Turandot, but she is not agreeable to marrying Calef. Calef says if she can guess his name by morning, Turandot can execute him. Calef sings this aria:

None shall sleep! None shall sleep!

Even you, O Princess, in your cold bedroom, watch the stars that tremble with love and with hope!

But my secret is hidden within me; none will know my name! No, no! On your mouth I will say it when the light shines!

And my kiss will dissolve the silence that makes you mine!

Women’s chorus: No one will know his name, and we will have to, alas, die, die!

Calef: Vanish, o night! Fade, you stars! Fade, you stars! At dawn, I will win! I will win! I will win!